Miscellany – The Dawn Line duo

It’s been awhile since I posted anything substantial about The Dawn Line, so I figured it was about time to show you what I’ve been working on.

This page was the early concept that I had created for Steve Rolston near the beginning of his comic-making class. While I like this style, it relies heavily on reference photos to get the look right, and there are just not enough polar bear ninjas out there.The Dawn Line - Small coverAll-in-all, I was never really happy with the character designs in my first Dawn Line pages, so I have been experimenting with this cartoon style in my sketch book. Dawn Line - June 25It turned out like a Akira Toriyama/Brandon Graham love child, but that’s okay with me.

Billy (the polar bear) and the golgothi are how they will look in the next pages, but Hendersen’s face still needs work. In that last panel especially, he looks like my grandmother. Definitely not what I am going for here (Sorry, gramma!).

These Sasquatch Noir sketches are closer to what his final design should look like.

Sass-QuatchSass-Quatch Torpedo

Slowly I am getting closer to the look and feel that I really want in this book, so it won’t be long before I can post some completed pages. Wouldn’t that be nice? Oh, yes, yes.

This entry was posted in Miscellany, The Dawn Line and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

